Worst interview answers/responses

lundi 26 octobre 2015

Here's my best one. I have to preface it: I had a friend from my undergrad going there who knew my interviewer really well, and the interview was open file. Plus, the interviewer was partially deaf, which he didn't inform me of.

Int: I see you played college football. Tell me about that.

Me: (Talking in a normal voice, I notice the interviewer lean across the table toward me and cup his hand up to his ear). It was a great experience, it was fun to work with everyone else, help make each other better...

Int: (Cuts me off mid-sentence) Son, you're going to have to speak up. I'm partially deaf.

Me: (Talking a little louder) Ok no problem...

Int: I still can't hear you. REALLY speak up!

Me: (Now almost yelling) Ok, how's this!?

Int: I can hear you now. So, we already have a college football player here at school, why do we need another one (you)?

Me: You need a backup in case the first one doesn't play well or gets injured.

Int: (Likes the response, nods in approval, this was the only sign of good/bad in the whole interview). Your friend ——— and me and a bunch of students play basketball each week. Would I dominate you in basketball like I dominate ———?

Me: No, I hold my own in hoops.

Int: (Begins 40 minutes of Q & A about ethics. I'll just put a few of them in here) So, it's the day before a big game, and you're out with your best receiver, who steals something from the store. What would you do?

Me: I would talk to him and let him know I think he should return whatever he stole. I would let him take care of it and be responsible himself.

Int: What if he wouldn't?

Me: Well then I'd probably talk to our coach and notify him of the situation.

Int: (Switches topics without taking a breath) You're in your first year of school. Everyone shares old tests. You get a test, but you notice the date on top of it is for next week. It's a copy of the actual test. What would you do?

Me: I would talk to the student who got a hold of the test and let them know they should talk to the professor about it.

Int: Is it your responsibility to find out who got it?

Me: Ummm, I guess not.

Int: What you should do is just let the teacher know there's an actual copy of the test out so they can change it.

Int: Question after question about dental ethics now. Asking stuff about what to do if I see dentists overdiagnosing, perform poor work, etc.

Me: (I have no idea. Finally this is what I say): I have no idea what I would do in that situation because I don't know enough about dentistry yet. What would you do?

Int: (Leans back in his chair like he's pretty surprised that I would ask him that question) Well, I would...(explains his point of view)

Int: Well, our time is up (after 45 mins). Do you have any questions for me?

Me: Yeah. What are you trying to get out of this interview? (I'm pretty rattled by now but tying not to show it).

Int: I'm trying to see whether or not you are willing to learn, and whether or not I could tolerate having you as a student.

Me: And?

Int: I think I could tolerate it (doesn't show any sort of expression).

I was 95% sure I would be rejected there. Dec. 1 rolled around and I was, but then a couple weeks ago I ended up getting accepted but turning it down.

Anyway I know it's long but that's my interview story.

This entry passed through the Full-Text RSS service - if this is your content and you're reading it on someone else's site, please read the FAQ at http://ift.tt/jcXqJW.



Worst interview answers/responses

0 commentaires:

Enregistrer un commentaire

Copyright © 2010 Game Star | Free Blogger Templates by Splashy Templates | Layout by Atomic Website Templates