Affichage des articles dont le libellé est Anyone used to be pre-med?. Afficher tous les articles
Affichage des articles dont le libellé est Anyone used to be pre-med?. Afficher tous les articles

Anyone used to be pre-med?

samedi 7 novembre 2015

0 commentaires

I began as pre-med, and was until I actually started my application to med schools.

When I left my first career I thought of medicine as being the most challenging path and that, more than anything, was what I wanted. I craved the challenge that civilian life lacked. I always thought of PT as a fall-back, and nothing more. I did really well in my undergrad and finished in 3 years (would have been 2.5 but I added a business minor at the last minute). My school did not have a specific pre-med degree, so I chose kinesiology. I thought it would be more applicable to life and a little different then everyone else applying to med schools, which admission committees love. As a part of my degree I had to do an internship and just so happened to get one at a PT clinic, and really started to like PT. Even after I was done there I still considered myself to be pre-med, and signed up for the MCAT. I could tell my heart wasn't really into studying for it, but I thought it was just because it was boring material.

Then after I graduated I fell into a gap year job (never expected to graduate early) at a medical office. I was super excited and motivated because it was what I thought I wanted to do. It took 3 days before I realized medicine was not where I should be. I have always hated the pharmaceutical cycle and people complaining, "make me better." Since I was not interested in ER/Trauma, thats all medicine would be. If I specialize I see the same 5 things everyday that never change, if I go family medicine I get to deal with people whining about the sniffles... great.

But, what really changed me from the pre-med track was the AMCAS admissions essay. I don't remember the words buts it was something like, "why do you want to be a doctor." While trying to write that I had nothing to say and couldn't lie to myself anymore; then the PTCAS essay was almost fun to write.

I chose PT because I will get to actually see patients progress and succeed, instead of only seeing them when they are in pain. I will be working with patients that actually want to get better and are, usually, willing to work for it. The way I describe it to people is that MD's/DO's are like the salespeople, they tell patients what the need or want and then send them away; PT's are the mechanics they actually help the patients, provide the necessary tools, and ensure their success.

Just my views, if nothing makes sense its late and I may have been enjoying a few drinks earlier.

This entry passed through the Full-Text RSS service - if this is your content and you're reading it on someone else's site, please read the FAQ at http://ift.tt/jcXqJW.



Anyone used to be pre-med?

Copyright © 2010 Game Star | Free Blogger Templates by Splashy Templates | Layout by Atomic Website Templates