Affichage des articles dont le libellé est Starting To Have Doubts About Medicine. Afficher tous les articles
Affichage des articles dont le libellé est Starting To Have Doubts About Medicine. Afficher tous les articles

Starting To Have Doubts About Medicine

mercredi 18 novembre 2015

0 commentaires

I recently had a conversation about this with one of my professors (an MD JD himself who works on health policy, a very respected prof here) and I tend to agree with the argument he made.

1. In the fields where what the OP claims is generally true - primary care fields - doctors do not think they are compensated enough and patients think it is too expensive. In his words, "this is a market that will not clear unless taxpayers are willing to spend a lot of money" but it doesn't change the fact that people need those services, some more than others. As a result, expanding training and scope of practice for mid levels seems like a logical thing to do since docs are not willing to take enough of these jobs. Obviously, there are some questions here about whether this is safe, correct, etc.

I asked him if he was concerned that training and expertise differences between mid levels and MDs concerned him and he said there are certainly troublesome gaps but we would be outright lying to ourselves if we didn't admit there were not worse gaps in the current system where a huge subset of the population does not even have access to primary care services or cannot afford it. For most problems, a PA/NP following the cookbook will be just fine and problemstic cases can be referred.

2. The role of the physician is changing. There are going to be a lot more avenues for people to receive care in the future and few of them will require a physician to be directly involved or co-locate with the patient. Telemedicine, health monitoring technology at home, etc. Acute and complex care will most likely always be the domain of the physician but many services do not truly require a physician's eyes. Furthermore, docs will have a greater diversity of roles, sometimes simply as managers rather than the point of delivery of care.

It's hard to say how much of this is good and bad for physicians and for patients. Time will tell.

This entry passed through the Full-Text RSS service - if this is your content and you're reading it on someone else's site, please read the FAQ at http://ift.tt/jcXqJW.



Starting To Have Doubts About Medicine

Starting To Have Doubts About Medicine

lundi 16 novembre 2015

0 commentaires
With all this cheap labor flooding into Medicine could this hurt my job security as a Physician?

Nurse Practitioner's scope of practice getting larger and larger combined with NP pushing for more practice rights. If you read any news articles you will see heads of these associations saying, "We are just like Physicians, but we have a different philosophy to care."

You have Psychologists writing prescriptions. Optometrist performing surgeries at least in KY.

It sucks. Because they have really successful lobbying. I don't want to get out after 7-8 long post-grad years and have to compete with a bunch of people willing do the same stuff for half the price.

Is there any merit for this? Or am I just being alarmist? Right now I'm just a Sophomore, but I have heard this multiple times from other pre-meds.

This entry passed through the Full-Text RSS service - if this is your content and you're reading it on someone else's site, please read the FAQ at http://ift.tt/jcXqJW.



Starting To Have Doubts About Medicine

Copyright © 2010 Game Star | Free Blogger Templates by Splashy Templates | Layout by Atomic Website Templates