I love people who do ER, but COME ON guys

mardi 13 octobre 2015

A while back I'm sent to assess a lady who comes in for "cellulitis" on LLE while on medicine. I take the elevator down to the ER and find the patient, and there's nothing on her legs. No rash, no bruise, nothing! I check and recheck that it's the right patient, then do a full exam. I go back to my resident to WTF and he's like: "Haha! I know! That's why ED said. I guess we're not admitting this one."

Then a couple of days ago on neuro consults I'm sent to evaluate someone with "left face numbness/pain". Ok. Find the patient, and she has a textbook angle-closure glaucoma (inflamed and painful left eye, dilated and fixed pupil on that side, etc.) I stop my exam after 2 minutes b/c it's a medical emergency and pester my resident. To his credit, he sees her right away, and then tells the ED to call optho stat.

I'm just a mediocre med student, don't do this to me ER.

This entry passed through the Full-Text RSS service - if this is your content and you're reading it on someone else's site, please read the FAQ at http://ift.tt/jcXqJW.



I love people who do ER, but COME ON guys

0 commentaires:

Enregistrer un commentaire

Copyright © 2010 Game Star | Free Blogger Templates by Splashy Templates | Layout by Atomic Website Templates