Least Shocking Study ever

dimanche 8 novembre 2015

One issue with "over testing" is where do you stop?
I mean from a malpractice standpoint.

Young chest pain with no risk factors. CXR, EKG. Do you get a trop? If you do, full r/o and stress test?
Some med mal guys will say if you start the workup you need to finish it.

Same with vertigo. I see some people getting CT scans and d/c.
We all know the CT scan will probably not show a posterior lesion.
If you are looking for central cause, why didn't you get an MRI?
Would you be better with H&P and d/c if nothing points to central cause?

Based on odds, young people are less likely to have anything serious, but those missed are a disaster from med mal.
I try to do what I think is best for the patient, and I think most patients like when we get tests.
If the patient doesn't want something, I have a conversation and document refusal and capacity.
If i'm really concerned they may get an AMA, which I'm not sure really helps.

I am at the beginning of my career.
I probably order too much stuff.
That may change, it may not.

This entry passed through the Full-Text RSS service - if this is your content and you're reading it on someone else's site, please read the FAQ at http://ift.tt/jcXqJW.



Least Shocking Study ever

0 commentaires:

Enregistrer un commentaire

Copyright © 2010 Game Star | Free Blogger Templates by Splashy Templates | Layout by Atomic Website Templates