Freshman Year .91 cGPA in 2013.. Now Im going back. Advice?

mercredi 11 novembre 2015

I grew up in an abusive home, did well HS but ended it big, graduating only by the grace of a saintly principal..
Went to an avg state school and completed freshman year on academic probation with a 1.0> CGPA, including a failed bio and a failed chem class.
Skip to the last paragraph if fluff doesn't interest you!!

I took a year and a half long break, separated myself from that home and all the(minor) substances and habits I was using to forget it, and became 100% independant. I truly see myself as another person, my closest family and friends agree. Amid my priorities straightening out, I have an overwhelming desire to pursue medicine. Health issues were a core component in the issues in my home, and I want to play a part in families like mine.

Now, spring 2016 at 20 years old I get to return to my univ my intended major is wildlife bio(passion plus most med school pre reqs) , med school or not, and I WILL conquer my classes!!

I'm just wanting to know if any of you see a comeback into medicine with those first year stats? Without including expensive postbacc or grad school?
I am keen on the idea of 4 more years in undergrad minoring in studio art(another passion), hopefully graduating honors(plausible with significant improvement by junior year)... perhaps staying an additional year or two and picking up another major or just taking higher level science classes if I need to still raise my gpa.
What advice do you have to someone wanting to suceed in pre med as you have?
Would you recommend taking chem1 and bio 1 again in this 1st semester? Thank god my school does grade replacement, but I know MD schools don't. I want to jump in pre med/bio major path head first, but I am so scared I'm going to mess it up so I fear I should maybe not risk the sciences classes just yet.
Believe you me, I have read countless forums and I am fully prepared for a back up plan to medicine. I also don't mean to be pre-emptive or knock anyone's hustle.. the path yall are taking is only for the best of the best and I have thought long and hard on my desires. It is so very personal that I have only discussed it with my advisor to show her my 4 year plan... She is intent I will change my mind lol. If I can stick to my guns, I'm giving myself an entire summer to study for MCAT after junior year. I'm also ready to take on ECs and my gpa trend has no direction to go in but UP lol! My understanding is that I can get it up to a 3.3-3.5 cgpa with bachelors,luck, and genuine dedication.

Please hand out advise on suceeding in classes? I am watching and taking notes on gen. bio lectures on YouTube in anticipation of this class.

Be honest, is this gpa from a mid level state school just too low to aim for Md in US without post bacc? Or have you seen it/can it be done? Am I coming off naive?

Thank you snders!!!

This entry passed through the Full-Text RSS service - if this is your content and you're reading it on someone else's site, please read the FAQ at http://ift.tt/jcXqJW.



Freshman Year .91 cGPA in 2013.. Now Im going back. Advice?

0 commentaires:

Enregistrer un commentaire

Copyright © 2010 Game Star | Free Blogger Templates by Splashy Templates | Layout by Atomic Website Templates